Sequential Evaluation Process

SSA uses a 5 step sequential evaluation process for determining whether an individual is disabled:
1. Is the claimant engaging in substantial gainful activity (SGA)? There are specific rules that set forth the amount of money that is considered SGA.
2. Does the claimant suffer from a severe impairment? A severe impairment is one that significantly limits an individual’s ability to perform basic work activities.
3. Does the claimant’s impairment or combination of impairments meet or equal a listing?
4. Based upon the claimant’s RFC, can he/she perform his/her past relevant work?
5. If the claimant cannot perform his/her past relevant work, is the claimant able to do any other work?


About tngainjurylawyer
Serious Injury Lawyer in Tennessee and Georgia.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: