Substantial Gainful Activity

As indicated in previous posts, the Social Security Administration has established a five step sequential evaluation process for determining whether an individual is disabled.  The first “step” in the sequential evaluation process is to determine whether the claimant is engaged in substantial gainful activity (SGA).  SGA is work that is both substantial and gainful.  If an individual engages in SGA, he/she is not disabled.  If the claimant is not engaging in SGA, the decision-maker will proceed to step two of the sequential evaluation process.  Monthly SGA figures are available here.

Keep in mind that a proper analysis of SGA is not simply a matter of examining the SGA figures linked above. There are other issues that must be explored.  Moreover, although I indicate above the general rule that an individual engaging in SGA is not disabled, there are exceptions to the rule.

If you need assistance with your Georgia Social Security Disability claim, or your Tennessee Social Security Disability Claim, you should consider contacting Patrick Cruise at The Hamilton Firm.


About tngainjurylawyer
Serious Injury Lawyer in Tennessee and Georgia.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: