Severe Impairment(s)

In my prior post I discussed step one of the sequential evaluation process. The Social Security Administration (SSA) has established a five step sequential evaluation process for determining whether an individual is disabled.  At step one, it must be determined whether the claimant is engaging in substantial gainful activity.  At step two, SSA must determine whether the claimant has a medically determinable impairment that is “severe” or a combination of impairments that is severe. SSA defines “severe” as an impairment that significantly limits the claimant’s ability to perform basic work activities.  If the individual does not have a severe impairment, or combination of impairments that is severe, he/she is not disabled.

The Hamilton Firm handles disability claims in North Georgia and Tennessee.  We are based in Chattanooga, Tennessee.


About tngainjurylawyer
Serious Injury Lawyer in Tennessee and Georgia.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: